Online ebook

Top Best Epub Readers

[BOOKS] ✭ Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders (A Woman of WWII Mystery #1) ✯ Tessa Arlen – Eiyo.us

Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders (A Woman of WWII Mystery #1) The Start Of An Exciting New World War II Historical Mystery Series Featuring Charming, Quirky Air Raid Warden Poppy Redfern Summer The World Has Been At War For Three Long And Desperate Years In The Remote English Village Of Little Buffenden, The Redfern Family S House And Farmland Has Been Requisitioned By The War Office As A New Airfield For The American Air Force The Village S Air Raid Warden, Twentysomething Poppy Redfern, Spends Her Nights Patrolling The Village And Her Days Writing A Novel Of Passion It Is A Far Cry From The Experience Of The Other Young Women In Town Within Days, Two Of The Village S Prettiest Girls Are Dating American Airmen And Little Buffenden Considers The Friendly Invasion To Be A Success But Less Than A Week Later, Doreen Newcombe, The Baker S Daughter And The Popular Ivy Wantage Are Both Found Dead Poppy Realizes That Her Community Has Been Divided By Murder, And The Mistrust And Suspicion Of Their New American Neighbors Threatens To Tear This Town, Already Grappling With The Horrors Of War, Apart Poppy Decides To Start Her Own Investigation, But She Soon Unearths Some Unfortunate Secrets And Long Held Grudges She Will Have No Choice But To Lay A Trap For A Killer So Perilously Close To Home, She Might Very Well Become The Next Victim

[BOOKS] ✭ Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders (A Woman of WWII Mystery #1)  ✯ Tessa Arlen – Eiyo.us
  • Paperback
  • 320 pages
  • Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders (A Woman of WWII Mystery #1)
  • Tessa Arlen
  • 07 February 2018
  • 9781984805805

    10 thoughts on “[BOOKS] ✭ Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders (A Woman of WWII Mystery #1) ✯ Tessa Arlen – Eiyo.us


  1. says:

    Move over, Nancy Drew There s a young redhead attired with an Air Raid helmet and binoculars who s been blessed with plenty of spunk and attitude Kinda finding a foothole in your territory, Girl.It s the Summer of 1942 and the small English village of Little Buffenden is preparing for air raids by the Germans with blackout curtains and practice routines guiding its inhabitants to underground safety Poppy Redfern has been commissioned as the Air Raid Warden and she takes her role seriously With personal canine pet Bess in tow, Poppy makes her rounds each evening Although hardly twenty, Poppy has shown responsibility every step of the way.Things have changed drastically in the village as the American Air Force is building a new airfield nearby and their presence at the local pubs and cafes is not always met with friendliness Even so, the Americans have been dating young women in the village Eyebrows have gone up on disapproving faces.The routines of day to day living have been shaken when the bodies of two of those women have been found murdered Accusations are thrown into the air with their targets directed at the Americans Our gal Poppy takes her mystery skills as a part time writer and implements them into finding out who is behind the murders.Tessa Arlen creates a journey into times past with an emphasis on the sacrifices made during World War II and the stress and uncertainty of potential raids on the English countryside But then she rounds out her story with developing a delightful character in Poppy Poppy s exploits give depth and interest The mystery is hardly mindboggling, but it provides an enjoyable escape from some of our heavy duty reads Love the bookcover and love the thought that there s a 2 in the making.I received a copy of this book through Goodreads Giveaways My thanks to Berkley Publishers and to Tessa Arlen for the opportunity.


  2. says:

    OMG that cover And OMG is Poppy Redfern fab a gutsy air warden and amateur detective extraordinaire in the English village of Little Buffenden This charming mystery, the first in a new Arlen series, is set in 1942 during my fave historical era, the British blitz.The War Office has taken over Poppy s family home and farm for an American Air Force airfield If that s not troubling enough, two young women involved with American servicemen are found dead Tension runs high between the locals and the Americans and shake the little village to its core.Poppy investigates with help from an attractive American pilot Can they unravel the mystery as she sets a trap close to home for the killer, or will she be the next victim I love Arlen s fine writing, the compelling narrative, the characters, and really everything about this sweet mystery As she wrote when announcing publication I was raised on stories of the Blitz in London My father was given a thrashing because he and his cousin sat up on the roof of their house in Greenwich with their Spam sandwiches to watch a dogfight between Messerschmidts and Spitfires That hearty spirit and heritage inform her writing and blitz us with delight 5 of 5 enthusiastic stars Pub Date 05 Nov 2019.Thanks to the author, Berkley Publishing Group and NetGalley for the review copy Opinions are mine PoppyRedfernAndTheMidnightMurders NetGalley


  3. says:

    OMG that cover And OMG is Poppy Redfern fab a gutsy air warden and amateur detective extraordinaire in the English village of Little Buffenden This charming mystery, the first in a new Arlen series, is set in 1942 during my fave historical era, the British blitz.The War Office has taken over Poppy s family home and farm for an American Air Force airfield If that s not troubling enough, two young women involved with American servicemen are found dead Tensions run high between the locals and the Americans and shake the little village to its core.Poppy investigates with help from an attractive American pilot Can they unravel the mystery as she sets a trap close to home for the killer, or will she be the next victim I love Arlen s fine writing, the compelling narrative, the characters, and really everything about this sweet mystery As she wrote when announcing publication I was raised on stories of the Blitz in London My father was given a thrashing because he and his cousin sat up on the roof of their house in Greenwich with their Spam sandwiches to watch a dogfight between Messerschmidts and Spitfires That hearty spirit and heritage inform her writing and blitz us with delight 5 of 5 enthusiastic stars Pub Date 05 Nov 2019.Thanks to the author, Berkley Publishing Group and NetGalley for the review copy Opinions are mine PoppyRedfernAndTheMidnightMurders NetGalley


  4. says:

    I was raised on stories of the Blitz in London My fifteen year old father was given a thrashing because he and his cousin sat up on the roof of their house in Greenwich with their Spam sandwiches to watch a dogfight between Messerschmidt and Spitfire fighter planes His stories and memories in no way diminished the severe deprivation that WWII on the home front brought to the British people they merely sought to lighten the load of a time of terror, loss and the unshakable belief that Nazi Germany would not prevail It was my father s voice I most often heard as I wrote Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders.


  5. says:

    Absolutely smashing Arlen pens a dynamite beginning to a new series, filled with wartime suspense, skillfully wrought emotions, and a liberal dash of romance Readers will fall in love with clever and quirky Poppy Redfern and the colorful villagers of Little Buffenden, as well as their dashing new neighbors the American Airmen.


  6. says:

    Poppy Redfern is the only Air Raid Warden in her town of Little Buffenden Her family s house and farmland have been requisitioned by the War Office to build a new airfield for the American Air Force The invasion by American Airmen is a sort of friendly invasion that is resented by many in the isolated and insular town.Tensions rise even when two young women who were dating American Airmen are found strangled to death and a third young woman narrowly escapes death Poppy is one of the few who don t believe that an American soldier is the strangler She is busy investigating as she does her rounds She is helped by American Lieutenant Griff O Neal even though he does some suspicious things in the course of this story.I liked that there were a number of suspects and that the murderer wasn t necessarily the obvious choice I liked the interesting characters who lived in the village I liked Poppy who was attractive and bright but who lacked a little self confidence I liked that she had a hidden life as a writer I liked her canine companion Bess This was an engaging and entertaining mystery for fans of stories set during World War II.


  7. says:

    You can absolutely judge this book by the cover It s a great cover and a great book Poppy and her family are well written, as are the other characters The village setting is wonderful and although I thought I knew who did it early on I continued to second guess myself until the end A must read for fans of Francis Brody, Anna Lee Huber, Susan Elia MacNeal, and Jacqueline Winspear.


  8. says:

    Meh Figured it out halfway, characters were fine but not amazing However that a little ridiculous ending sets up some exciting possibilities for the rest of the series.


  9. says:

    Very promising start to a new series.


  10. says:

    I received an ARC of this novel courtesy of Berkley Prime Crime in exchange for an honest and voluntary review Will post full review closer to publication date of November 05, 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • See Post

  • More Post